ULTRASONOGRAPHY



ECHOGRAPHIE




cases
cas


Retroperiton

 

Goubaa Mohamed MD Djerba Tunisia

English Français
--- Arabic
Ten pregnant women are scanned, for clinically suspected placenta previas. The initial study is performed transabdominally through a full urinary bladder and then transvaginally with an empty urinary bladder. Do the ultrasound findings support the clinical suspicion of placenta previas?

Dix patientes enceintes ont été examinées pour une suspicion clinique de placenta praevia, d'abord par voie abdominale avec vessie pleine puis par voie endovaginale.
L échographie confirmera-t-elle la suspicion clinique de placenta prévia?
________________________

 

 


Low-lying placenta
(Click on the image below)
Placenta bas isérée latéral
(Cliquez sur les images en bas)

case1
case 2

case3

case4

********

Marginal (or partial) previa (Click on the image below)
Preavia marginal (ou partiel)(Cliquez sur les images en bas)

Case 1
Case 2

Case 3


Case 4

********

placenta completely previa(Click on the image below)
Placenta preavia total
(Cliquez sur les images en bas)


********

Normal : Differential
(Click on the image below)
Normal : Différentiel
(Cliquez sur les images en bas)
Normal : Differential

 

 

PLACENTA
PREVIA
PLACENTA_

 


English
Click Here


Arabic

Le placenta preavia est défini comme un placenta qui est proche ou qui couvre l'orifice interne du col utérin.
Le groupe de patientes qui ont un risque accru de placenta preavia inclue ceux dont l'âge maternel est avancé, les femmes multipares, et ceux avec antécédents de Césarienne. Le symptôme le plus fréquent du placenta preavia est le saignement indolore au troisième trimestre, mais les patientes peuvent être asymptomatiques. Cependant, ceci ne signifie pas que tous les cas du saignement vaginal sont provoqués par un placenta preavia. Des 3 à 5% de toutes les grossesses qui sont compliquées par le saignement du troisième trimestre, 10% seulement sont en rapport avec un placenta preavia.
La complication principale, surtout pour un placenta preavia complet, est l'hémorragie maternelle au moment de la délivrance. D'autres incluent l'accouchement prématuré, le retard de croissance intra-utérin, et la mort périnatale, vraisemblablement secondaire au décollement prématuré du placenta du segment utérin inférieur.
Des lors que le trophotropisme peut causer des changements cruciaux de la position placentaire, un preavia n'est habituellement pas diagnostiqué avant 20 semaines à moins que les signes soient présents. Une fois détectée après 20 semaines chez une femme asymptomatique, un contrôle devrait être réalisée approximativement à 32 semaines pour déterminer si le placenta preavia est encore présent. Si la femme est symptomatique, en particulier s'il existe un saignement vaginal, des contrôles échographiques plus fréquents sont souvent nécessaires.
Le placenta preavia a été classifié à des degrés variables pour inclure le placenta latéral bas inséré, preavia partiel (ou marginale) et le preavia complet (ou recouvrante). Un placenta latéral bas inséré est à moins de 2 centimètres de l'orifice du col, un preavia partiel couvre partiellement l'orifice, et un preavia complet se prolonge complètement au delas l'orifice interne du col.
Le placenta latéral bas inséré et le preavia partiel peuvent émigrer plus haut et diminuer le besoin de recours à la césarienne. Ce processus, qui a été défini comme le trophotropisme, décrit l'atrophie du placenta dans la région du segment utérin inférieur avec une croissance parallèle d'autres régions du placenta sur des endroits vasculaire plus riches. La recherche a suggéré qu'un placenta preavia qui est susceptible d'avoir besoin d'une césarienne soit un placenta qui recouvre l'orifice cervical interne d'au moins 20 millimètres au cours du troisième trimestre.

Echographie :
Les quatre méthodes échographiques suivantes existent pour explorer le segment utérin inférieur pour l'identification de l'emplacement du placenta et son rapport avec l'orifice interne du col : la voie trans-abdominale, trans-labiale (périnéale), endovaginale et endorectale.
L'exploration la plus utile et la moins coûteuse est l'échographie trans-vaginale qui fournit une certitude de 100% en identifiant le placenta preavia. Une autre alternative serait l'échographie transrectale qui peut être équivalente à l'approche standard par voie trans-vaginale mais avec moins de traumatismes possibles pour la grossesse.
Le diagnostic échographique de placenta preavia est basé sur la position du placenta par rapport à l'orifice interne du col. Au deuxième trimestre, dans la plupart des cas, le segment utérin inférieur peut être visualisé à travers une vessie pleine. Si la vessie est vide, il peut être fréquemment évalué avec un balayage à travers le liquide amniotique. Cependant, au troisième trimestre, toutes les deux techniques d'abord par voie abdominale peuvent échouer. Le foetus est plus grand et il est constamment plaqué contre la partie inférieure de l'utérus, et le balayage par voie endovaginale ou endorectale peut être nécessaire.
L'échographie endovaginale est considérée comme l'imagerie étalon pour le diagnostic du placenta preavia. Avec la voie abdominale, des résultats de faux positifs peuvent se voir notamment avec une vessie pleine et dilaté, des contractions utérines, et les cones d'ombres du col et de la tête foetale ou d'autres parties foetales.
Pour un col non dilaté, trois définitions ultrasonographiques sont employées par rapport à l'orifice cervical interne fermé: un placenta bas insérée latéral où le placenta est proche mais ne couvre pas l'orifice, un preavia marginal (ou partiel) dans lequel le placenta se prolonge au bord mais ne croise pas l'orifice, et un preavia complet où le placenta couvre et se trouve et se place au dessus de l'orifice interne du col utérin.

Vasa preavia et insertion vélamenteuse du cordon ombilical :
Le Vasa preavia décrit des vaisseaux d'origine foetale couvrant complètement ou partiellement l'orifice interne du col.
Le Vasa preavia peut résulter de l'insertion vélamenteuse du cordon ou de son insertion marginale ou des vaisseaux reliant deux parties d'un placenta bilobé. Le vasa preavia s'associe fréquammant avec des gestations multiples et des placentas bas insérés. Ces vaisseaux font partie de la circulation foetale et peuvent amener à une perte sanguine foetale significative et à la mort foetale à l'heure qui suit la rupture des membranes ou de lors de l'accouchement.
A l'échographie: L'échographie obstétricale devrait inclure la visualisation de l'insertion de cordon ombilical dans le placenta. La voie endovaginale devraient être employés chez les patientes présentant des facteurs de risque de vasa preavia, y compris les patientes chez qui l'insertion placentaire de corde n'est pas identifiée par voie trans-abdominale en raison des limitations de la vision de l'image, pouvant être en rapport avec l'obésité maternelle ou l'emplacement de la vessie maternelle. La Doppler couleur ou puissance sera habituellement nécessaire pour la confirmation du diagnostic.


Références :

* 1 : Heer IM, Muller-Egloff S, Strauss A. Placenta praevia--comparison of four sonographic modalities.
Ultraschall Med. 2006 Aug;27(4):355-9.

* 2 : Predanic M, Perni SC, Baergen RN, Jean-Pierre C, Chasen ST, Chervenak FA. A sonographic assessment of different patterns of placenta previa "migration" in the third trimester of pregnancy.
J Ultrasound Med. 2005 Jun;24(6):773-80.

* 3 : Lodhi SK, Khanum Z, Watoo TH. Placenta previa: the role of ultrasound in assessment during third trimester.
J Pak Med Assoc. 2004 Feb;54(2):81-3.

* 4 : Williams PL, Laifer-Narin SL, Ragavendra N. US of abnormal uterine bleeding.
Radiographics. 2003 May-Jun;23(3):703-18. Review.

* 5 : Mustafa SA, Brizot ML, Carvalho MH, et al: Transvaginal ultrasonography in predicting placenta previa at delivery: a longitudinal study. Ultrasound Obstet Gynecol 2002 Oct; 20(4): 356-9

* 6 : Chen JM, Zhou QC, Wang RR. [Value of transvaginal sonography in diagnosis of placenta previa]
Hunan Yi Ke Da Xue Xue Bao. 2001 Jun 28;26(3):289-90.

* 7 : Catanzarite V, Maida C, Thomas W, Mendoza A, Stanco L, Piacquadio KM. Prenatal sonographic diagnosis of vasa previa: ultrasound findings and obstetric outcome in ten cases.
Ultrasound Obstet Gynecol. 2001 Aug;18(2):109-15.

* 8 : Megier P, Gorin V, Desroches A. [Ultrasonography of placenta previa at the third trimester of pregnancy: research for signs of placenta accreta/percreta and vasa previa. Prospective color and pulsed Doppler ultrasonography study of 45 cases]
J Gynecol Obstet Biol Reprod (Paris). 1999 Jun;28(3):239-44.

* 9 : Sunna E, Ziadeh S. Transvaginal and transabdominal ultrasound for the diagnosis of placenta praevia.
J Obstet Gynaecol. 1999 Mar;19(2):152-4.

* 10 : Taipale P, Hiilesmaa V, Ylostalo P. Transvaginal ultrasonography at 18-23 weeks in predicting placenta previa at delivery.
Ultrasound Obstet Gynecol. 1998 Dec;12(6):422-5.

* 11 : Chen KH, Konchak P. Use of transvaginal color Doppler ultrasound to diagnose vasa previa.
J Am Osteopath Assoc. 1998 Feb;98(2):116-7.

* 12 : Taipale P, Hiilesmaa V, Ylostalo P. Diagnosis of placenta previa by transvaginal sonographic screening at 12-16 weeks in a nonselected population.
Obstet Gynecol. 1997 Mar;89(3):364-7.

* 13 : Dawson WB, Dumas MD, Romano WM, Gagnon R, Gratton RJ, Mowbray RD. Translabial ultrasonography and placenta previa: does measurement of the os-placenta distance predict outcome?
J Ultrasound Med. 1996 Jun;15(6):441-6.

* 14 : Tan NH, Abu M, Woo JL, Tahir HM. The role of transvaginal sonography in the diagnosis of placenta praevia.
Aust N Z J Obstet Gynaecol. 1995 Feb;35(1):42-5.

 

 

 


 


 
Medicalechography.com

ULTRASONOGRAPHY



ECHOGRAPHIE




cases
cas


Retroperiton

 

Goubaa Mohamed MD Djerba Tunisia

English Français
--- Arabic
Ten pregnant women are scanned, for clinically suspected placenta previas. The initial study is performed transabdominally through a full urinary bladder and then transvaginally with an empty urinary bladder. Do the ultrasound findings support the clinical suspicion of placenta previas?

Dix patientes enceintes ont été examinées pour une suspicion clinique de placenta praevia, d'abord par voie abdominale avec vessie pleine puis par voie endovaginale.
L échographie confirmera-t-elle la suspicion clinique de placenta prévia?
________________________

 

 


Low-lying placenta
(Click on the image below)
Placenta bas isérée latéral
(Cliquez sur les images en bas)

case1
case 2

case3

case4

********

Marginal (or partial) previa (Click on the image below)
Preavia marginal (ou partiel)(Cliquez sur les images en bas)

Case 1
Case 2

Case 3


Case 4

********

placenta completely previa(Click on the image below)
Placenta preavia total
(Cliquez sur les images en bas)


********

Normal : Differential
(Click on the image below)
Normal : Différentiel
(Cliquez sur les images en bas)
Normal : Differential

 

 

PLACENTA
PREVIA
PLACENTA_

 


Français
cliquez ici

Arabic

Placenta previa is defined as a placenta that is near or covering the internal cervical os.
Patients who are at increased risk for placenta previa include those with advanced maternal age, multiparous women, and those with a prior history of C-section. The most common symptom of placenta previa is painless bleeding in the third trimester, but patients may be asymptomatic. However, this does not mean that all cases of vaginal bleeding are caused by a placenta previa. Of the 3 to 5% of all pregnancies that are complicated by third trimester bleeding, only about 10% are due to a placenta previa.
The major complication, greater in a complete previa, is maternal hemorrhage at time of delivery. Others are premature delivery, intrauterine growth retardation, and perinatal death, presumably secondary to premature detachment of the placenta from the lower uterine segment.
Because trophotropism can cause significant changes in placental position, a previa is usually not formally diagnosed before 20 weeks unless symptoms are present. When detected after 20 weeks in an asymptomatic woman, a follow-up study should be performed at approximately 32 weeks to determine if the previa is still present. If a woman is symptomatic, particularly vaginal bleeding, more frequent ultrasound studies are often necessary.
Placenta previa has been classified into varying degrees to include low-lying placenta, partial previa, and complete previa. A low-lying placenta is within 2 cm of the os, a partial previa partially covers the os, and a complete previa extends completely across the internal cervical os.
The low-lying placenta and partial previa may migrate and alleviate the need for C-section. This process, which has been defined as trophotropism, describes the atrophy of the placenta in the region of the lower uterine segment with differential growth of other regions of the placenta toward more vascular-rich sites. Research has suggested that a placenta previa that is likely to need C-section is one that overlaps the internal cervical os by 20 mm in the third trimester.

Ultrasonography :
The following four defined methods exist for imaging of the lower uterine segment for identification of the location of the placenta in relationship to the internal os: trans-abdominal imaging, trans-labial imaging, endovaginal and endorectal imaging.
The most useful and inexpensive study is transvaginal ultrasonography that provides 100% accuracy in identifying a placenta previa. An alternative would be transrectal ultrasonography that can be equivalent to the standard transvaginal approach with less potential trauma to the pregnancy.
The ultrasound diagnosis of placenta previa is based on the position of the placenta to the internal cervical os. In the second trimester, in most cases, the lower uterine segment can be visualized through a distended urinary bladder. If not, it can frequently be evaluated with an empty urinary bladder scanning through the amniotic fluid. In the third trimester, however, both of these techniques may fail. The fetus is larger and may be persistently positioned in the lower uterus, and vaginal or endorectal scanning may be needed.
Endovaginal imaging is considered the gold standard for diagnosis of placenta previa. With trans-abdominal imaging, false-positive results may occur from an over-distended bladder, myometrial contractions, and shadowing of the cervix from the fetal head or other overlying fetal parts.
In a nondilated cervix, three ultrasound-based definitions are used in relation to the closed internal cervical os: a low-lying placenta where the placenta approaches but does not cover the os, a marginal (or partial) previa in which the placenta extends to the edge but does not cross the os, and a complete previa where the placenta crosses over and covers the internal os

Vasa Previa and velamentous umbilical cord :
Vasa previa describes vessels of fetal origin that completely or partially cover the internal cervical os.
Vasa previa may arise from velamentous cord insertion or marginal cord insertion or from the connecting vessels of an accessory or bilobed placenta. Vasa previa has also been seen with increased frequency in association with multiple gestations and low-lying placentas. These vessels are from the fetal circulation and can lead to significant fetal blood loss and fetal death at the time of rupture of membranes or delivery.
Sonographic Findings: An obstetric ultrasound should include visualization of the umbilical cord insertion into the placenta. Endovaginal ultrasound should be used in patients with risk factors for vasa previa, including patients in whom the placental cord insertion is not identified because of the limitations of transabdominal imaging that may be associated with maternal size or position of the maternal bladder. Color Doppler or power Doppler will usually be needed for confirmation of the diagnosis.


Reference :
* 1 : Heer IM, Muller-Egloff S, Strauss A. Placenta praevia--comparison of four sonographic modalities.
Ultraschall Med. 2006 Aug;27(4):355-9.

* 2 : Predanic M, Perni SC, Baergen RN, Jean-Pierre C, Chasen ST, Chervenak FA. A sonographic assessment of different patterns of placenta previa "migration" in the third trimester of pregnancy.
J Ultrasound Med. 2005 Jun;24(6):773-80.

* 3 : Lodhi SK, Khanum Z, Watoo TH. Placenta previa: the role of ultrasound in assessment during third trimester.
J Pak Med Assoc. 2004 Feb;54(2):81-3.

* 4 : Williams PL, Laifer-Narin SL, Ragavendra N. US of abnormal uterine bleeding.
Radiographics. 2003 May-Jun;23(3):703-18. Review.

* 5 : Mustafa SA, Brizot ML, Carvalho MH, et al: Transvaginal ultrasonography in predicting placenta previa at delivery: a longitudinal study. Ultrasound Obstet Gynecol 2002 Oct; 20(4): 356-9

* 6 : Chen JM, Zhou QC, Wang RR. [Value of transvaginal sonography in diagnosis of placenta previa]
Hunan Yi Ke Da Xue Xue Bao. 2001 Jun 28;26(3):289-90.

* 7 : Catanzarite V, Maida C, Thomas W, Mendoza A, Stanco L, Piacquadio KM. Prenatal sonographic diagnosis of vasa previa: ultrasound findings and obstetric outcome in ten cases.
Ultrasound Obstet Gynecol. 2001 Aug;18(2):109-15.

* 8 : Megier P, Gorin V, Desroches A. [Ultrasonography of placenta previa at the third trimester of pregnancy: research for signs of placenta accreta/percreta and vasa previa. Prospective color and pulsed Doppler ultrasonography study of 45 cases]
J Gynecol Obstet Biol Reprod (Paris). 1999 Jun;28(3):239-44.

* 9 : Sunna E, Ziadeh S. Transvaginal and transabdominal ultrasound for the diagnosis of placenta praevia.
J Obstet Gynaecol. 1999 Mar;19(2):152-4.

* 10 : Taipale P, Hiilesmaa V, Ylostalo P. Transvaginal ultrasonography at 18-23 weeks in predicting placenta previa at delivery.
Ultrasound Obstet Gynecol. 1998 Dec;12(6):422-5.

* 11 : Chen KH, Konchak P. Use of transvaginal color Doppler ultrasound to diagnose vasa previa.
J Am Osteopath Assoc. 1998 Feb;98(2):116-7.

* 12 : Taipale P, Hiilesmaa V, Ylostalo P. Diagnosis of placenta previa by transvaginal sonographic screening at 12-16 weeks in a nonselected population.
Obstet Gynecol. 1997 Mar;89(3):364-7.

* 13 : Dawson WB, Dumas MD, Romano WM, Gagnon R, Gratton RJ, Mowbray RD. Translabial ultrasonography and placenta previa: does measurement of the os-placenta distance predict outcome?
J Ultrasound Med. 1996 Jun;15(6):441-6.

* 14 : Tan NH, Abu M, Woo JL, Tahir HM. The role of transvaginal sonography in the diagnosis of placenta praevia.
Aust N Z J Obstet Gynaecol. 1995 Feb;35(1):42-5.

 

 


 
Medicalechography.com