ULTRASONOGRAPHY



ECHOGRAPHIE




cases
cas


Retroperiton

 

Goubaa Mohamed MD Djerba Tunisia

English Français
--- Arabic
This 80-year-old female had a history of acute exacerbation of chronic right upper quadrant pain. There was no history of jaundice, hepatitis, trauma, or fever. Hepatomegaly was found on the physical exam. Ultrasound examinations of the right upper quadrant were performed. C'est une patiente de 80 ans avec comme histoire de maladie l'exacerbation aiguë d'une douleur chronique de l'hypochondre droit. Il n'y avait pas d'antécédent d'ictère, d'hépatite, de trauma, ou de la fièvre. Une hépatomégalie a été signalé à l'examen physique. Une examen échographique de l'hypochondre droit a été réalisé.

 


CT Scan Scanner

Click on the image below
Cliquez sur les images en bas

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cystic lesion containing diffuse detached endocystic membrane with internal debris. Here, A 'spin' or 'whorl' sign representing collapsed parasitic membranes is considered strong evidence of hydatid disease. Lésion kystique contenant la membrane endokystique avec les débris internes. Ici, l'aspect en ' Serpent ' et en ' ruban ' représentant les membranes du parasite effondrées est considéré pratiquement comme pathognomonique du kyste hydatique.
Hydatid (echinococcal) cyst type IV
Kyste Hydatique (echinococcose) type IV
IV

 


English
Click Here


Kyste hydatique

Arabic


Le kyste hydatique est habituellement provoquée par un parasite : l'échinococcus granulosus . L'homme est un hôte secondaire qui attrape l'infection en ingérant les légumes infestés d'œufs.
Le foie est l'organe le plus généralement touché, bien que les poumons, la rate, les os, les reins, et le système nerveux central puissent également être affectés.

Echographie :
L'aspect échographique des kystes d'hydatide dépend de l'étape évolutive, la maturité et la présence ou l'absence des complications.
Le kyste hydatique peut être de croissance lente et asymptomatique et peut être unique ou multiple.
Bien que les aspects soient souvent semblables à ceux d'un kyste simple, le diagnostic peut être fait en regardant soigneusement le paroi et le contenu : le kyste d'hydatide présente une capsule avec deux couches, qui peuvent sembler épaissies, séparées ou détachées lors de l'examen échographique. Les vésicules filles auront des cloisons partant de la capsule interne et dessinant l'aspect en " nid d'abeilles " ou en " roue de charrette ". Une écorce calcifiée autour d'un kyste est habituellement associée à un kyste hydatique vieux et inactif.
La présence d'une masse hétérogène avec des plages échogènes et hypoéchogène peut représenter une surinfection du kyste. Dans ces circonstances le diagnostic échographique d'un kyste hydatidique n'est pas toujours facile. La présence d'air dans la lésion peut rendre la masse très échogène. Les kystes pleins peuvent se produire démontrant l'aspect en ' boule de laine ' ou en 'ruban' ou en ' spire '. L'aspect en ' Serpent ' et en ' ruban ' représentant les membranes du parasite effondrées est considéré pratiquement comme pathognomonique du kyste hydatique même si la sérologie est négative.
La présence d'un niveau de gras-fluide dans un kyste hydatique hépatique peut être un signe de la rupture du kyste dans les voies biliaires. Avec cette rupture, le contenu du kyste peut devenir échogène, avec ou sans cône d'ombre postérieur, avec un défaut septal laissant une communication libre entre le kyste et la voie biliaire. La voie biliaire principale peut être, alors, dilatée avec du matériel échogène dans sa lumière.
La thérapie du kyste hydatique a été traditionnellement la résection chirurgicale. Cependant, récemment, le drainage percutané écho-guidé, avec ou sans traitement médical, a été préconisé. Au stade actuel de la connaissance la chirurgie demeure le traitement du choix, peut-être complété par traitement médical.

Le diagnostic différentiel
Le diagnostic différentiel de la maladie hydatique du foie inclut : * Métastases hépatiques nécrosées.
* Abcès du foie.
* Hématome.
* Rein polykystique.
* Kyste dermoide.
* Kyste du cholédoque ou des voies biliaires.
* Maladie de Caroli
* Amibiase.

Classification ( type ) des kystes :
La plus utilisée est celle de Gharbi (Tunisie) qui date des années 80.
Type I

II

III

IV
______ ______
V

______

Kyste hydatique de la rate :
Dans des régions endémiques la rate est impliquée dans 5 % de cas et la maladie hydatique est environ deux fois plus retrouvées que d'autres kystes bénins. Les kystes tendent à avoir une paroi assez bien définie et sont habituellement multiloculaires. Toutefois ils peuvent être uniloculaire et peuvent ressembler à un kyste simple, une attention particulière est donc exigée dans des secteurs endémiques. Les kystes hydatiques spléniques peuvent se calcifier.

Kyste hydatique du rein :
L'aspect habituellement un aspect kystique semblable à un kyste simple du rein mais, avec du temps, il devient plus complexe développant des membranes endokystiques. La séparation de l'endo-kyste peut donner le signe de ' lis flottant ' des membranes flottantes. Comme pour le foie, les kystes hydatiques rénaux peuvent être multiloculaires, complexes ou solides. la calcification de la paroi du kyste donne une masse échogène, avec une ombre postérieure.

Kyste hydatique de la surrénale :
Les kystes hydatiques de la surrénale sont rares et représentent 7 % de tous les kystes surrénaliens alors que la glande surrénale est impliquée dans 0,5 % de toutes les infections d'Ecbinococcus granulosis. Les caractéristiques échographiques dépendent de l'étape évolutive de la maladie. Les lésions débutantes sont purement kystiques et uniloculaire, non distinguable d'autres kystes bénins. Par la suite la capsule deviennent fibreuse et certains kystes peuvent se calcifier. L'apparition de vésicule fille donne un aspect multiloculaire au kyste.

Kyste hydatique pelvien :
Le kyste hydatique pelvien est rare et se présente habituellement avec des symptômes de pression sur les organes adjacents (vessie, sigmoïde et rectum). Il peut se simuler un tableau d'uropathie obstructive avec insuffisance rénale. Les aspects échographiques sont ceux de kystes multiloculaires.

 

 

 


 
©Medicalechography.com

ULTRASONOGRAPHY



ECHOGRAPHIE




cases
cas


Retroperiton

 

Goubaa Mohamed MD Djerba Tunisia

English Français
--- Arabic
This 80-year-old female had a history of acute exacerbation of chronic right upper quadrant pain. There was no history of jaundice, hepatitis, trauma, or fever. Hepatomegaly was found on the physical exam. Ultrasound examinations of the right upper quadrant were performed. C'est une patiente de 80 ans avec comme histoire de maladie l'exacerbation aiguë d'une douleur chronique de l'hypochondre droit. Il n'y avait pas d'antécédent d'ictère, d'hépatite, de trauma, ou de la fièvre. Une hépatomégalie a été signalé à l'examen physique. Une examen échographique de l'hypochondre droit a été réalisé.

 


CT Scan Scanner

Click on the image below
Cliquez sur les images en bas

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cystic lesion containing diffuse detached endocystic membrane with internal debris. Here, A 'spin' or 'whorl' sign representing collapsed parasitic membranes is considered strong evidence of hydatid disease. Lésion kystique contenant la membrane endokystique avec les débris internes. Ici, l'aspect en ' Serpent ' et en ' ruban ' représentant les membranes du parasite effondrées est considéré pratiquement comme pathognomonique du kyste hydatique.
Hydatid (echinococcal) cyst type IV
Kyste Hydatique (echinococcose) type IV
IV

 


Hydatid cyst

Français
cliquez ici

Arabic


Echinococcal disease is usually caused by a tape-worm, Echinococcus granulosus. Humans are a secondary host who get infected by ingesting egg-infested vegetables.
The liver is the most commonly affected organ, although the lungs, spleen, bones, kidneys, and central nervous system can also be affected.

Sonography :
The sonographic appearance of hydatid cysts depends tip on the stage of evolution and maturity and the presence or absence of complications.
The hydatid cyst can be slow-growing and asymptomatic and may be single or multiple, depending on the degree of infestation.
Although the appearances are often similar to those of a simple cyst, the diagnosis can be made by looking carefully at the wall and contents : the hydatid cyst has two layers to its capsule, which may appear thickened, separated or detached on ultrasound. Daughter cysts may arise from the inner capsule the honeycomb or cartwheel appearance. A calcified rind around a cyst is usually associated with an old, inactive hydatid lesion.
The presence of a heterogeneous mass with areas of increased and decreased echogenicity may represent a secondary infection of the cyst. In these circumstances ultrasound diagnosis of a hydatid cyst is not always possible. The presence of air within the lesion may make the mass very echogenic. Solid cysts may occur demonstrating the 'ball of wool' sign ,'spin' sign, 'whorl' sign or 'congealed waterlilly' sign. A 'spin' or 'whorl' sign representing collapsed parasitic membranes is considered strong evidence of hydatid disease even in the presence of negative serology.
The presence of a fat-fluid level in a hepatic hydatid cyst may be a sign of rupture into the biliary tree. With rupture into the biliary tree the contents of the cyst may become echogenic with or without posterior acoustic enhancement with a wall defect communicating with a biliary radical. The common bile duct may be dilated with echogenic material.

Management
of hepatic hydatid cysts has traditionally been surgical resection. However, recently percutaneous drainage under ultrasound guidance, with or without medical therapy, bas been advocated. At the present stage of knowledge surgery remains the treatment of choice perhaps supplemented by medical therapy.

Differential :
The differential diagnosis of hydatid disease of the liver includes
* Necrotic hepatic metastases.
* Liver abscesses.
* Hematomas.
* Polycystic kidney disease.
* Epidermoid cyst

* Bile duct cysts.
* Caroli's disease.
* Amebiasis.

Classification :
the most widely used being the one proposed by Gharbi (Tunisia) in the early 1980s
(Click on the image below)

Type I

II

III

IV
______ ______
V

______

Splenic hydatid cyst
In endemic areas the spleen is involved in 5 % of cases and it is about twice as common as other benign cysts. The cysts tend to have a fairly well defined wall and are usually multiloculate. However they may be unilocular which may resemble a simple cyst, caution is therefore required in endemic areas. Splenic hydatid cysts may calcify.

Renal hydatid disease
Granulosus infection usually bas a cystic appearance, which initially is similar to a simple cyst but becomes more complex with time developing an endocyst and membranes. Separation of endocyst may give rise to the 'floating lily' sign of floating septae. As with the liver, renal hydatid cysts may be multiloculate, complex or solid. Cyst-wall calcification results in a densely echogenic shadowing mass.

Hydatid cyst of the adrenal gland
Hydatid cysts of the adrenal gland are rare and represent 7 % of all adrenal cysts whilst the adrenal gland is involved in 0.5 % of all Ecbinococcus granulosis infections. The ultrasound features depend upon the stage of evolution of disease. Early lesions appear purely cystic and unilocular, indistinguishable from other benign cysts. Eventually the capsule become fibrotic and some may calcify. The discharge of daughter cysts from the wall gives it a multilocular appearance.

Primary pelvic hydatid
cyst A pelvic hydatid cyst is rare and usually presents with pressure symptoms involving adjacent organs (bladder , sigmoid and rectum). It may present with obstructive uropathy leading to renal failure. Ultrasound appearances are those of a multiloculated cyst.

 


 
©Medicalechography.com