ULTRASONOGRAPHY



ECHOGRAPHIE




cases
cas


Retroperiton

 

Goubaa Mohamed MD Djerba Tunisia

English Français
--- Arabic
This is a 32-year-old female with right-side chronic pelvic pain. C'est une patiente de 32 ans avec des douleurs pelviennes chroniques latéralisées à droite.

Transabdominal

ovary varicocele ultrasonography


ovaire varice échographie


uterus ovary ulrasound ultrasonography


doppler_ovary_varicocele_uterus


Pelvic_congestion_syndrome_ultrasound


pelvis ulrasound echography

Transvaginal

transvaginal-ultrasound-ovary-uterus


ultrasound goubaa ultrasonography

 

 

ultrasound reveals serpiginous structures, around the right ovary and the uterus, which are thought to be varicose veins. Color and duplex Doppler ultrasound shows venous flow within these structures. The tubular structures fill with color, suggesting that these are abnormally dilated and tortuous vessels.

L'échographie montre des structures serpigineuse, autour de l'ovaire droit et de l'utérus, laissant penser qu'il s'agit de veines dilatées et variqueuses. Le Doppler couleur et énergie montre un écoulement veineux dans ces structures. Ces structures tubulaires remplies de sang évoquent des veines tortueuses et dilatées.

 

Pelvic pain syndrome caused by ovarian varices
Varices pelvienne et varicocèle ovarienne

 


English
Click Here


Varices pelvienne et varicocèle ovarienne

Arabic


La varicocèle pelvienne se produit chez à peu près 10% de la population féminine et chez environ la moitié des femmes qui ont la douleur pelvienne chronique.
Les varices ovariennes marqués peuvent être à l'origine d'un syndrome de congestion pelvienne(Pelvic congestion syndrome = PCT). Les veines variqueuses dans les ligaments larges peuvent causer une douleur pelvienne, mal définie, liée à l'agrandissement de l'utérus et de des annexes. Les veines ovariennes pelviennes n'acheminent pas efficacement le sang vers cœur, et peuvent, a long terme, devenir dilatées et larges. Ceci peut mener à un état chronique de douleur, de pression et de pesanteur pelvienne.
D'autres symptômes incluent :
- Des varices dans d'autres sites (vulvaire, fesses, jambes).
- Mal de bas du dos après une position fixe pendant une longue période.
- Saignement menstruel anormal.
- Dysménorrhée.
- Ovaire sensible.
- Douleur post- coïtale.
- Vessie irritable.

Echographie :
Le drainage veineux des veines ovariennes se produit par l'intermédiaire du plexus ovarien qui est relié au plexus utérin au niveau du ligament large. généralement, une veine ovarienne unique part du plexus ovarien et monte en haut le long du muscle psoas et se jette dans la veine rénale gauche du côté gauche, et dans la veine cave inférieure du côté droit. Les aspects échographiques du plexus veineux pelvien normal sont une ou deux structures tubulaires droites avec un diamètre de moins de 5 millimètres.
Les signes échographiques du syndrome de congestion pelvienne sont une veine ovarienne gauche dilatée avec reverse flow caudal, la présence de varicocèle avec des veines dilatées multiples autour de l'ovaire et de l'utérus, des veines arquées dilatées croisant le myomètre utérin, des changements poly-kystique de l'ovaire, et une onde doppler variable pendant la manœuvre du Valsalva.
A l'échographie endovaginale on observe les varices pelviens comme des veines dilatées multiples qui sont supérieurs à 5 millimètres de diamètre, retrouvées dans le ligament large de l'utérus. La présence des structures veineuses circulaires ou linéaires avec un diamètre de plus de 5 millimètres est un signe de varices pelviennes. . La variabilité de la forme de l'onde Doppler duplex, dans la varicocèle pelvienne pendant la manœuvre du Valsalva, est un signe échographique important dans le syndrome congestion pelvienne et on peut voir : une accentuation initiale, un écoulement en sens inverse, une interruption brusque de l'écoulement et parfois aucun changement de flux veineux n'est visible.

Traitement :
* L'embolisation veineuse semble être le traitement de choix : un traitement bien-toléré et efficace pour le syndrome congestion pelvienne.

Références :
* 1 : Kim HS, Malhotra AD, Rowe PC, Lee JM, Venbrux AC. Embolotherapy for Pelvic Congestion Syndrome: Long-term Results. J Vasc Interv Radiol. 2006 Feb;17(2):289-97.
* 2 : Park SJ, Lim JW, Ko YT, Lee DH, Yoon Y, Oh JH, Lee HK, Huh CY. Diagnosis of pelvic congestion syndrome using transabdominal and transvaginal sonography. AJR Am J Roentgenol. 2004 Mar;182(3):683-8.
* 3 : Chung MH, Huh CY. Comparison of treatments for pelvic congestion syndrome. Tohoku J Exp Med. 2003 Nov;201(3):131-8.
* 4 : Tarazov PG, Prozorovskij KV, Ryzhkov VK. Pelvic pain syndrome caused by ovarian varices. Treatment by transcatheter embolization. Acta Radiol. 1997 Nov;38(6):1023-5.
* 5 : Hodgson TJ, Reed MW, Peck RJ, Hemingway AP. Case report: the ultrasound and Doppler appearances of pelvic varices. Clin Radiol. 1991 Sep;44(3):208-9.
* 6 : Kennedy A, Hemingway A. Radiology of ovarian varices. Br J Hosp Med. 1990 Jul;44(1):38-43. Review.
* 7 . Hodson TJ, Reed MW, Peck RJ, Hemingway AP. The ultrasound and Doppler appearances of pelvic varices. Clin Radiol 1991; 44:208-209
* 8 Giacchetto C, Cotroneo GB, Marincolo F. Ovarian varicocele: ultrasonic and phlebographic evaluation. J Clin Ultrasound 1990; 18:551-555.
* 9 . Park SJ, Lim JV, Ko YT, et al. Diagnosis of pelvic congestion syndrome using transabdominal and transvaginal sonography. AJR Am J Roentgenol 2004; 182:683-688


 


 
©Medicalechography.com

ULTRASONOGRAPHY



ECHOGRAPHIE




cases
cas


Retroperiton

 

Goubaa Mohamed MD Djerba Tunisia

English Français
--- Arabic
This is a 32-year-old female with right-side chronic pelvic pain. C'est une patiente de 32 ans avec des douleurs pelviennes chroniques latéralisées à droite.

Transabdominal

ovary varicocele ultrasonography


ovaire varice échographie


uterus ovary ulrasound ultrasonography


doppler_ovary_varicocele_uterus


Pelvic_congestion_syndrome_ultrasound


pelvis ulrasound echography

Transvaginal

transvaginal-ultrasound-ovary-uterus


ultrasound goubaa ultrasonography

 

 

ultrasound reveals serpiginous structures, around the right ovary and the uterus, which are thought to be varicose veins. Color and duplex Doppler ultrasound shows venous flow within these structures. The tubular structures fill with color, suggesting that these are abnormally dilated and tortuous vessels.

L'échographie montre des structures serpigineuse, autour de l'ovaire droit et de l'utérus, laissant penser qu'il s'agit de veines dilatées et variqueuses. Le Doppler couleur et énergie montre un écoulement veineux dans ces structures. Ces structures tubulaires remplies de sang évoquent des veines tortueuses et dilatées.

 

Pelvic pain syndrome caused by ovarian varices
Varices pelvienne et varicocèle ovarienne

 


Pelvic varices and ovarian varicocoele

Français
cliquez ici

Arabic


Pelvic varicocele occurs in about 10% of the general female population and in about half of women who have chronic pelvic pain.
Marked ovarian varices may cause a Pelvic congestion syndrome (PCT). Varicose veins in the broad ligaments may cause ill-defined pelvic pain associated with enlargement of the uterus and adnexa. Pelvic gonadal veins do not effectively move blood to the heart, and may become chronically dilated and enlarged. This may lead to a chronic condition of dull pelvic pain, pressure and heaviness.
Other symptoms include:
- Varicose veins (vulvar, buttocks, legs)
- Low backache after standing for long periods of time
- Abnormal menstrual bleeding
- Painful menstrual periods
- Ovary tenderness
- Post-coital ache Irritable bladder

Sonography :
Venous drainage of ovarian veins occurs via the ovarian plexus, which connects with the uterine plexus at the level of the broad ligament. Generally, a single ovarian vein leaves the ovarian plexus and ascends superiorly along the course of the psoas muscle and drains into the left renal vein on the left side, and into the inferior vena cava on the right side. The sonographic appearances of normal pelvic venous plexus are one or two straight tubular structures with a diameter of less than 5 mm.
Sonographic findings of pelvic congestion syndrome are dilated left ovarian vein with reversed caudal flow, multiple dilated veins around the ovary and uterus with a venous, dilated arcuate veins crossing the uterine myometrium, polycystic changes of the ovary, and variable duplex waveform during the Valsalva's maneuver.
Pelvic varices are observed with TVUS as multiple dilated veins that are >5 mm in diameter, located within the broad ligament of the uterus. The presence of circular or linear venous structures with a diameter greater than 5 mm is indicative of pelvic varicosities. Variable duplex waveform in a pelvic varicocele during the Valsalva's maneuver is an important Doppler sonographic finding for diagnosing pelvic congestion syndrome : including initial accentuation, reversed flow direction, and abrupt disappearance of flow and sometimes no change of flow pattern.

Treatment
* Vein embolization appears to be a safe, well-tolerated, effective treatment for pelvic congestion syndrome.

References :
* 1 : Kim HS, Malhotra AD, Rowe PC, Lee JM, Venbrux AC. Embolotherapy for Pelvic Congestion Syndrome: Long-term Results. J Vasc Interv Radiol. 2006 Feb;17(2):289-97.
* 2 : Park SJ, Lim JW, Ko YT, Lee DH, Yoon Y, Oh JH, Lee HK, Huh CY. Diagnosis of pelvic congestion syndrome using transabdominal and transvaginal sonography. AJR Am J Roentgenol. 2004 Mar;182(3):683-8.
* 3 : Chung MH, Huh CY. Comparison of treatments for pelvic congestion syndrome. Tohoku J Exp Med. 2003 Nov;201(3):131-8.
* 4 : Tarazov PG, Prozorovskij KV, Ryzhkov VK. Pelvic pain syndrome caused by ovarian varices. Treatment by transcatheter embolization. Acta Radiol. 1997 Nov;38(6):1023-5.
* 5 : Hodgson TJ, Reed MW, Peck RJ, Hemingway AP. Case report: the ultrasound and Doppler appearances of pelvic varices. Clin Radiol. 1991 Sep;44(3):208-9.
* 6 : Kennedy A, Hemingway A. Radiology of ovarian varices. Br J Hosp Med. 1990 Jul;44(1):38-43. Review.
* 7 . Hodson TJ, Reed MW, Peck RJ, Hemingway AP. The ultrasound and Doppler appearances of pelvic varices. Clin Radiol 1991; 44:208-209
* 8 Giacchetto C, Cotroneo GB, Marincolo F. Ovarian varicocele: ultrasonic and phlebographic evaluation. J Clin Ultrasound 1990; 18:551-555.
* 9 . Park SJ, Lim JV, Ko YT, et al. Diagnosis of pelvic congestion syndrome using transabdominal and transvaginal sonography. AJR Am J Roentgenol 2004; 182:683-688

 

 


 
©Medicalechography.com