ULTRASONOGRAPHY



ECHOGRAPHIE




cases
cas


Retroperiton

 

Goubaa Mohamed MD Djerba Tunisia

English Français
--- Arabic
This is a 28-year-old female (virgin female) who presents with marked pelvic pain, nausea and vomiting. Physical examination showed a large pelvic mass which could be adnexal and/or uterine in origin. Patient have both transabdominal and transrectal examinations. C'est une patiente vierge âgée de 28 ans, qui s'est présenté pour des douleurs pelviennes intenses, nausée et vomissements. L'examen physique a révélé la présence d'une grande masse pelvienne qui pourrait être d'origine anexielle et/ou utérine. La patiente a subit un examen échographique par les 2 voies : abdominale et endorectale.


teratomas orarii ulrasound

échographie tératome kyste demoide


ultrasound ovary cyst


tumor tumeur ovary ovaire


tératome dermoide ovarien ovarii

Click on the image below
Cliquez sur les images en bas

 

 

 

 

 

 

There is a complex, predominantly cystic mass measuring 12 x 8 cm anterior and apparently separate from the uterus. The solid part of mass has a 7 x 5 cm. The left ovary could not be identified.
The pathologist finds complex body tissue in the mass(ovarian teratoma).
Torsion of ovarian teratoma caused the pain of the patient.

Il existe une masse principalement kystique mesurant 12 x 8 centimètres et apparemment séparé de l'utérus. La partie solide de la masse mesure 7 x 5 centimètres. L'ovaire gauche n'est pas identifiable.
L'anatomo-pathologiste trouve du tissu varié de tout le corps dans la masse (tératome ovarien).
La douleur est en rapport avec la torsion du kyste.

Ovarian Teratoma Tératome ovarien

 

English
Click Here


Tératome ovarien

Arabic

 

Les tératomes sont les tumeurs ovariennes les plus communes et représentent 20% des tumeurs ovariennes et près de 95% des tumeurs des cellules germinales. Ce sont les tumeurs communes des adolescentes et des jeunes femmes mais peuvent également se voir chez les personnes âgées. Les tératomes malins sont rares (1% à 3% des cas). Entre 10 et 15 % de ces kystes dermoides sont bilatéraux. Les tératomes kystiques se composent habituellement de trois couches de cellules germinales: ectoderme, mésoderme, et endoderme, avec prédominance de l'ectoderme. Ils contiennent souvent des fragments de graisse, de dents (40% des dermoides contiennent des dents) , de cheveux et d'os.

Clinique:
Les tératomes kystiques sont généralement asymptomatiques, bien qu'une douleur peut survenir en cas de la torsion ou rupture. Les plus grandes lésions peuvent donner une aspect de masse ou un gonflement de l'abdomen.

Echographie :
Echographiquement, le tératome peut varier d'une masse totalement anéchogène à une masse hyperéchogène. Le plus souvent, il apparaît comme une masse complexe. La majorité de dermoides sont très échogènes , pouvant générer une ombre postérieure. Les tératomes kystiques bénins montrent typiquement une composante kystique anéchogène en plus d'une masse dense avec cône d'ombre qui correspond à un bouchon dermoïde. L'atténuation acoustique forte se produit en présence d'os, de dents, et de cheveux dans ce bouchon, produisant quelques fois * le signe de "tip-of-the-iceberg (inclinaison de l'iceberg)" ou le signe du coucher du soleil. Ce foyer intensément échogène est un signe évocateur de tératome. D'autres signes échographiques distinctifs incluent * un niveau de graisse-fluide et * les lignes et les points hyperéchogènes produits par les cheveux. La taille de la partie dermoïde du kyste varie de quelques millimètres à une lésion qui occupe la masse entière.
L'echogrphie Doppler couleur peut être utile dans la différentiation des tératomes kystiques bénins et malins. L'écoulement de sang dans des tératomes kystiques bénins est typiquement retrouvé seulement dans la périphérie du kyste contenant la plupart du temps de la graisse et des cheveux non vascularisés. Réciproquement, l'écoulement intra-tumoral de sang est sensiblement plus fréquemment dans les tératomes malins que dans les tératomes bénins, à l'exception du goitre ovarien qui une forme rare et en général bénigne de tératome kystique qui contient le tissu thyroïdien richement vascularisé .

Diagnostic différentiel :
Les tératomes kystiques bénins ont des aspects variables qui peuvent simuler les kystes hémorragiques, les endométriomes, les cancers ovariens, et les tumeurs métastatiques. Cependant, les tératomes ont souvent deux ou plus, des caractéristique des kystes dermoides, et les autres lésions semblables n'ont habituellement pas plus d'une caractéristique . Différentiel :
* Kyste ovarien hémorragique.
* Les endometriomes.
* Fibrome et fibrothécome.
* Arrhénoblastome.
* Tumeur des cellules de la Granulosa.
* Cystadénome ou Cystadénocarcinome mucineux ou séreux.
* Carcinome endometroide.
* Adénocarcinome sans collection séreuse ou muqueuse.
* Les tumeurs de Krukenberg.
* Les lymphomes de l'ovaire.

Traitement:
Des tératomes kystiques sont souvent enlevés chirurgicalement, mais en raison de leur taux de croissance typiquement lent, des soucis de fertilité des patientes doivent être considérés. Dans la mesure du possible, les lésions seront excisées sans ablation de l'ovaire impliqué; en fait, la chirurgie peut parfois être retardée jusqu'à ce que les patientes ont complété leurs familles.

Références :
* 1: Cass DL. Ovarian torsion. Semin Pediatr Surg. 2005 May;14(2):86-92.
* 2: Kocak M, Dilbaz B, Ozturk N, Dede S, Altay M, Dilbaz S, Haberal A. Laparoscopic management of ovarian dermoid cysts: a review of 47 cases. Ann Saudi Med. 2004 Sep-Oct;24(5):357-60.
* 3: de Silva KS, Kanumakala S, Grover SR, Chow CW, Warne GL. Ovarian lesions in children and adolescents--an 11-year review. J Pediatr Endocrinol Metab. 2004 Jul;17(7):951-7. Review.
* 4: Sait K, Simpson C. Ovarian teratoma diagnosis and management: case presentations. J Obstet Gynaecol Can. 2004 Feb;26(2):137-42.
* 5: Wu TT, Wang HC, Chang YC, Lee YC, Chang YL, Yang PC. Mature mediastinal teratoma: sonographic imaging patterns and pathologic correlation. J Ultrasound Med. 2002 Jul;21(7):759-65.
* 6: Zalel Y, Seidman DS, Oren M, Achiron R, Gotlieb W, Mashiach S, Goldenberg M. Sonographic and clinical characteristics of struma ovarii. J Ultrasound Med. 2000 Dec;19(12):857-61.
* 7: Serafini G, Quadri PG, Gandolfo NG, Gandolfo N, Martinoli C, Derchi LE. Sonographic features of incidentally detected, small, nonpalpable ovarian dermoids. J Clin Ultrasound. 1999 Sep;27(7):369-73.
* 8: Patel MD, Feldstein VA, Lipson SD, Chen DC, Filly RA. Cystic teratomas of the ovary: diagnostic value of sonography. AJR Am J Roentgenol. 1998 Oct;171(4):1061-5.
* 9: Zalel Y, Caspi B, Tepper R. Doppler flow characteristics of dermoid cysts: unique appearance of struma ovarii. J Ultrasound Med. 1997 May;16(5):355-8.

 

 

 


 
©Medicalechography.com

ULTRASONOGRAPHY



ECHOGRAPHIE




cases
cas


Retroperiton

 

Goubaa Mohamed MD Djerba Tunisia

English Français
--- Arabic
This is a 28-year-old female (virgin female) who presents with marked pelvic pain, nausea and vomiting. Physical examination showed a large pelvic mass which could be adnexal and/or uterine in origin. Patient have both transabdominal and transrectal examinations. C'est une patiente vierge âgée de 28 ans, qui s'est présenté pour des douleurs pelviennes intenses, nausée et vomissements. L'examen physique a révélé la présence d'une grande masse pelvienne qui pourrait être d'origine anexielle et/ou utérine. La patiente a subit un examen échographique par les 2 voies : abdominale et endorectale.


teratomas orarii ulrasound

échographie tératome kyste demoide


ultrasound ovary cyst


tumor tumeur ovary ovaire


tératome dermoide ovarien ovarii

Click on the image below
Cliquez sur les images en bas

 

 

 

 

 

 

There is a complex, predominantly cystic mass measuring 12 x 8 cm anterior and apparently separate from the uterus. The solid part of mass has a 7 x 5 cm. The left ovary could not be identified.
The pathologist finds complex body tissue in the mass(ovarian teratoma).
Torsion of ovarian teratoma caused the pain of the patient.

Il existe une masse principalement kystique mesurant 12 x 8 centimètres et apparemment séparé de l'utérus. La partie solide de la masse mesure 7 x 5 centimètres. L'ovaire gauche n'est pas identifiable.
L'anatomo-pathologiste trouve du tissu varié de tout le corps dans la masse (tératome ovarien).
La douleur est en rapport avec la torsion du kyste.

Ovarian Teratoma Tératome ovarien

 

Ovarian Teratoma

Français
cliquez ici

Arabic

Teratomas are the most common ovarian neoplasm constituting 20% of all ovarian tumors and about 95% of germ cell tumors. These are common tumors in adolescent and young women but may also occur in the elderly. Malignant teratomas are rare (1% to 3% of cases). Between 10 and 15 percent of dermoids are bilateral. Cystic teratomas are usually composed of three germ cell layers: ectoderm, mesoderm, and endoderm, with ectoderm predominating. they often contain fat, teeth (40% of dermoids contain teeth), hair and bone fragments.

Clinical :
Cystic teratomas are commonly asymptomatic, although pain may result in the event of torsion or rupture. Larger lesions may produce an abdominal mass or swelling.

Ultrasonography :
Sonographically, dermoids can range from totally anechoic to a hyperechoic mass. Most commonly, they appear as complex masses. The majority of dermoids are very echogenic and they may shadow. Benign cystic teratomas characteristically show an anechoic cystic component and a shadowing density that corresponds to a dermoid plug. Strong acoustic attenuation occurs in the presence of bone, teeth, and hair in the plug, sometimes producing the "tip-of-the-iceberg" sign. This intensely echogenic focus is the cystic teratoma's most defining feature. Other distinctive sonographic features include a fat-fluid level and hyperechoic lines and dots generated by hair. The size of the dermoid plug varies from a few mm to that occupying the entire mass.
Color Doppler sonography may be helpful in differentiation of benign and malignant cystic teratomas. Blood flow in benign cystic teratomas is typically found only in the periphery because the cyst contains mostly avascular fat and hair. Conversely, malignant teratomas show intratumoral blood flow significantly more frequently than benign teratomas, with the exception of struma ovarii, a rare and typically benign form of cystic teratoma that contains highly vascular thyroid tissue .

Differential :
Benign cystic teratomas have variable appearances that may mimic hemorrhagic cysts, endometriomas, primary ovarian neoplasms, and metastatic tumors. Teratomas, however, often have two or more features characteristic of dermoids, and sonographically similar lesions usually have no more than one. Différential :

* Haemorrhagic ovarian cyst.
* Endometrioma.
* Fibroma and fibrothecoma.
* Arrhenoblastoma.
* Granulosa cell tumour.
* Mucinous or serous cystadenomas or cystadenocarcinoma.
* Endometroid carcinoma.
* Adenocarcinoma without serous or mucous collection.
* Krukenberg's tumeurs.
* Lymphoma of ovaries.

Treatment :
Cystic teratomas are often surgically removed, but because of their typically slow growth rate, patient fertility concerns may be considered. Wherever possible, lesions are excised without removal of the involved ovary; in fact, surgery can sometimes be delayed until patients have completed their families.

Reference :
* 1: Cass DL. Ovarian torsion. Semin Pediatr Surg. 2005 May;14(2):86-92.
* 2: Kocak M, Dilbaz B, Ozturk N, Dede S, Altay M, Dilbaz S, Haberal A. Laparoscopic management of ovarian dermoid cysts: a review of 47 cases. Ann Saudi Med. 2004 Sep-Oct;24(5):357-60.
* 3: de Silva KS, Kanumakala S, Grover SR, Chow CW, Warne GL. Ovarian lesions in children and adolescents--an 11-year review. J Pediatr Endocrinol Metab. 2004 Jul;17(7):951-7. Review.
* 4: Sait K, Simpson C. Ovarian teratoma diagnosis and management: case presentations. J Obstet Gynaecol Can. 2004 Feb;26(2):137-42.
* 5: Wu TT, Wang HC, Chang YC, Lee YC, Chang YL, Yang PC. Mature mediastinal teratoma: sonographic imaging patterns and pathologic correlation. J Ultrasound Med. 2002 Jul;21(7):759-65.
* 6: Zalel Y, Seidman DS, Oren M, Achiron R, Gotlieb W, Mashiach S, Goldenberg M. Sonographic and clinical characteristics of struma ovarii. J Ultrasound Med. 2000 Dec;19(12):857-61.
* 7: Serafini G, Quadri PG, Gandolfo NG, Gandolfo N, Martinoli C, Derchi LE. Sonographic features of incidentally detected, small, nonpalpable ovarian dermoids. J Clin Ultrasound. 1999 Sep;27(7):369-73.
* 8: Patel MD, Feldstein VA, Lipson SD, Chen DC, Filly RA. Cystic teratomas of the ovary: diagnostic value of sonography. AJR Am J Roentgenol. 1998 Oct;171(4):1061-5.
* 9: Zalel Y, Caspi B, Tepper R. Doppler flow characteristics of dermoid cysts: unique appearance of struma ovarii. J Ultrasound Med. 1997 May;16(5):355-8.

 

 


 
©Medicalechography.com