ULTRASONOGRAPHY



ECHOGRAPHIE




cases
cas


Retroperiton

 

Goubaa Mohamed MD Djerba Tunisia

English Français
--- Arabic
This is a 50-year-old male who was in a motor vehicle accident and first appeared in the emergency room 3 days later. He sustained a lacerations of her right shoulder.He is referred for ultrasound of shoulder. Ce patient âgé de 50 ans, victime d'un accident de motocycle, a été vu au service d'urgence 2 jours auparavant. Il a subit des lacération de son épaule droite. Il a été adressé pour une échographie de l'épaule.

 

 

Click on the image below
Cliquez sur les images en bas

 

diagram
Schéma


 

 

 

Images

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Anterior transverse (1, 3) and longitudinal (2)scan of the shoulder of this 50-year-old men demonstrate posttraumatic subdeltoid bursitis. A hypoechoic prominent bursitis (4) is shown. Also the long head of the biceps tendon is surrounding with fluid (with hypoechoic line above the biceps tendon (2)).

Les coupes transversales antérieur (1, 3) et longitudinales (2) de l'épaule de cet hommes de 50 ans démontrent une bursite. La bourse sous acromio-deltoïdienne est hopoéchogène et liquidienne. En outre une lame liquidienne entoure le tendon de biceps ( du liquide est visible au-dessus du tendon de biceps (2)).

 

Traumatic Subdeltoid bursitis bursite sous acromio-deltoïdienne traumatique ______

 

English
Click Here

Français

Arabic

Introduction
La bourse sous acromio-deltoïdienne est une large structure qui lie l'acromion et le ligament acromio-coracoïdien et sépare ce ligament de la région d'insertion des muscles sus-épineux et de la coiffe des rotateurs. Elle ne communique pas avec l'articulation de l'épaule à moins que le tendon de muscle sus-épineux soit déchiré.

Étiologie:
La bursite peut avoir comme étiologie:
· trauma aigu.
· frottement chronique (dommages d'excès d'utilisation).
· dépôt en cristal (goutte, pseudo-goutte).
· Infection: tuberculose (1) ou autres infections (4).
· les maladies systémiques: arthrite rhumatoïde (6), spondylites ankylosante, arthrite psoriasique, sclérodermie, Lupus érythémateux systémique, pancréatite, maladie de Whipple, oxalose, urémie, ostéo-arthropathie pulmonaire hypertrophiante et syndrome d' hyperéosinophilie idiopathique.

Clinique:
Le patient se présente avec une douleur locales mais profonde, aiguës, sévères, avec limitation des mouvements de l'épaule dans tous les plans et particulièrement lors de l'abduction.

Echographie:
L' échographie de l'épaule est la seule méthode qui peut visualiser et caractériser la maladie synoviale et les atteintes de la bouse, sans contraste radiographique, avec si nécessaire, une aspiration écho-guidée et une biopsie. La bourse sous acromio-deltoïdienne , située entre le muscle deltoïde et les tendons du sus-épineux et du sous-épineux, est visible comme une ligne hypoéchogène de 1 à 2 millimètres d'épaisseur avec, autour, une quantité variable de graisse échogène (1).
L'indication la plus commune pour l'échographie de l'épaule est le diagnostic de la maladie de la coiffe des rotateurs. Cependant, il y a d'autres anomalies de l'épaule pouvant bénéficier des avantages de l'échographie : y compris l'instabilité du tendon de biceps, les joints gléno-huméraux, les joints acromio-claviculaires, les arthropathies et les bursites (maladies inflammatoires, désordres dégénératifs, infections et traumatismes) (2, 3).
La bursite traumatique est visible sous forme d'un espace de plus de 2 mm anormalement saillant, hopoéchogène (fluide) ou échogène (du sang) sous le deltoïde. L'épanchement dans la bourse sous acromio-deltoïdienne accompagne habituellement l'atteinte des rotateurs de la coiffe. le diagnostic du bursite sera évoqué quand la différence entre l'épaisseur de la bourse touchée et la bouse controlatérale est plus grande que 1 millimètre et losqu'elle est associées à une asymétrie des paramètres suivants: échogènicité, échostruture ou rythme (5).
La radiographie n'est habituellement pas utile dans la bursite aigu à moins qu'on suspecte d'autres pathologies (ruptures, dislocations).

Traitement:
La plupart des patients présentant des bursites peuvent bénéficier d'un traitement conservateur. Son objectifs est de réduire l'inflammation. Ce traitement conservateur inclut le repos, le froid et les traitements thermiques, les médicaments anti-inflammatoires non stéroïdiens, l'élévation, l'aspiration du liquide, et les injections stéroïdes dans la bourse.
L'épaule affectée sera mise au repos, mais elle ne devrait être immobilisée que pour quelques jours en raison du risque de capsulite adhésive.
En outre, des ultrasons sont employés pour traiter des patients avec des bursites acromio-deltoïdienne mais les résultats suggèrent que les ultrasons ont peu ou pas d'avantages thérapeutiques (7).

Reference :
* 1: Moosmayer S, Heir S, Aaser P, Smith HJ. [Ultrasound examination of the shoulder--a method description] Tidsskr Nor Laegeforen. 2004 Jan 22;124(2):177-80. Norwegian.
* 2: Martinoli C, Bianchi S, Prato N, Pugliese F, Zamorani MP, Valle M, Derchi LE. US of the shoulder: non-rotator cuff disorders. Radiographics. 2003 Mar-Apr;23(2):381-401; quiz 534. Review.
* 3: Bouffard JA, Lee SM, Dhanju J. Ultrasonography of the shoulder. Semin Ultrasound CT MR. 2000 Jun;21(3):164-91. Review.
* 4: Rutten MJ, van den Berg JC, van den Hoogen FH, Lemmens JA. Nontuberculous mycobacterial bursitis and arthritis of the shoulder. Skeletal Radiol. 1998 Jan;27(1):33-5.
* 5: Fernandes MS, Pinto AC. [Ultrasonographic diagnosis of the pathology of the rotator cuff and subacromial bursa: criteria] Acta Med Port. 1994 Apr;7(4):211-20. Portuguese.
* 6: Vicens JL, Flageat J, Eulry F, Pattin S, Doury P. [Shoulder bursitis in rheumatoid polyarthritis] J Radiol. 1989 Nov;70(11):649-51. French.
* 7: Downing DS, Weinstein A. Ultrasound therapy of subacromial bursitis. A double blind trial. Phys Ther. 1986 Feb;66(2):194-9.

 

 


 
©Medicalechography.com

ULTRASONOGRAPHY



ECHOGRAPHIE




cases
cas


Retroperiton

 

Goubaa Mohamed MD Djerba Tunisia

English Français
--- Arabic
This is a 50-year-old male who was in a motor vehicle accident and first appeared in the emergency room 3 days later. He sustained a lacerations of her right shoulder.He is referred for ultrasound of shoulder. Ce patient âgé de 50 ans, victime d'un accident de motocycle, a été vu au service d'urgence 2 jours auparavant. Il a subit des lacération de son épaule droite. Il a été adressé pour une échographie de l'épaule.

 

 

Click on the image below
Cliquez sur les images en bas

 

diagram
Schéma


 

 

 

Images

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Anterior transverse (1, 3) and longitudinal (2)scan of the shoulder of this 50-year-old men demonstrate posttraumatic subdeltoid bursitis. A hypoechoic prominent bursitis (4) is shown. Also the long head of the biceps tendon is surrounding with fluid (with hypoechoic line above the biceps tendon (2)).

Les coupes transversales antérieur (1, 3) et longitudinales (2) de l'épaule de cet hommes de 50 ans démontrent une bursite. La bourse sous acromio-deltoïdienne est hopoéchogène et liquidienne. En outre une lame liquidienne entoure le tendon de biceps ( du liquide est visible au-dessus du tendon de biceps (2)).

 

Traumatic Subdeltoid bursitis bursite sous acromio-deltoïdienne traumatique ______

 

Subdeltoid Bursitis

Français
cliquez ici

Arabic


Introduction :
The subacromial bursa is a large structure that lies the acromion and coracoacromial ligament and separates the ligament from the supraspinatus muscle and rotator cuff. It does not communicate with the shoulder joint unless the supraspinatus tendon is torn.

Etiology :
Burstis may occur as a result of several causes :
· acute trauma.
· chronic friction (overuse injuries).
· crystal deposition (gout, pseudogout).
· Infection : tuberculosis (1) or other infections (4).
· systemic diseases : rheumatoid arthritis (6), ankylosing spondylitis, psoriatic arthritis, scleroderma, systemic lupus erythematosus, pancreatitis, Whipple disease, oxalosis, uremia, hypertrophic pulmonary osteoarthropathy, and idiopathic hypereosinophilic syndrome.

Clinique :
The patient presents with acute, severe, deep-seated local pain and weakness with shoulder movement in any plane but especially on abduction.

Sonography :
The shoulder ultrasonography is the only modality that can visualize and characterize synovial and bursa disease, without radiographic contrast, and when necessary, US-guided aspiration and biopsy can be performed. The subacromial-subdeltoid bursa is imaged as a hypoechoic line, 1-2 mm thick with a variable amount of peribursal echogenic fat, between the deltoid muscle and the supraspinatus and infraspinatus tendons (1).
The most common indication for shoulder ultrasonography is the diagnosis of rotator cuff disease. However, there is a spectrum of non-rotator cuff abnormalities that are amenable to ultrasonography examination, including instability of the biceps tendon, glenohumeral joint, and acromioclavicular joint; arthropathies and bursites (inflammatory diseases, degenerative and infiltrative disorders, infections) (2 , 3).
Bursitis : The bursa was prominent (more then 2 mm) and Ultrasography shows abnormal hopoechogenic or echogenic (blood) fluid within the subdeltoid bursa, which shows hyperemia suggestive of acute bursitis. Increased fluid in subacromial-subdeltoid bursa usually accompanies rotator cuff full thickness tears. the diagnosis of bursitis will be evoked when The difference between the affected and the sound bursa thickness is bigger than 1 mm associated with asymmetries of one of the following parametres: echogenicity, echostruture or rhythm (5). Radiography is usually not helpful in acute bursitis unless other pathologies (fractures, dislocations) are suspected.

Treatment :
Most patients with bursitis can be treated conservatively. Conservative treatment aims to reduce inflammation. Conservative treatment includes rest, cold and heat treatments, nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs, elevation, bursal aspiration, and intrabursal steroid injections.
Put affected shoulder at rest , but shoulders should not be immobilized for more than a few days because of the risk of adhesive capsulitis.
Also, ultrasound is used to treat patients with subacromial bursitis but the results suggest that US is of little or no benefit (7).

 

Reference :
* 1: Moosmayer S, Heir S, Aaser P, Smith HJ. [Ultrasound examination of the shoulder--a method description] Tidsskr Nor Laegeforen. 2004 Jan 22;124(2):177-80. Norwegian.
* 2: Martinoli C, Bianchi S, Prato N, Pugliese F, Zamorani MP, Valle M, Derchi LE. US of the shoulder: non-rotator cuff disorders. Radiographics. 2003 Mar-Apr;23(2):381-401; quiz 534. Review.
* 3: Bouffard JA, Lee SM, Dhanju J. Ultrasonography of the shoulder. Semin Ultrasound CT MR. 2000 Jun;21(3):164-91. Review.
* 4: Rutten MJ, van den Berg JC, van den Hoogen FH, Lemmens JA. Nontuberculous mycobacterial bursitis and arthritis of the shoulder. Skeletal Radiol. 1998 Jan;27(1):33-5.
* 5: Fernandes MS, Pinto AC. [Ultrasonographic diagnosis of the pathology of the rotator cuff and subacromial bursa: criteria] Acta Med Port. 1994 Apr;7(4):211-20. Portuguese.
* 6: Vicens JL, Flageat J, Eulry F, Pattin S, Doury P. [Shoulder bursitis in rheumatoid polyarthritis] J Radiol. 1989 Nov;70(11):649-51. French.
* 7: Downing DS, Weinstein A. Ultrasound therapy of subacromial bursitis. A double blind trial. Phys Ther. 1986 Feb;66(2):194-9.

 

 

 


 
©Medicalechography.com